The Dinsdale Award was established in 1992 by The Society for Scientific Exploration’s founding member, councilor, and editor of the SSE Journal, (now retired) Professor Henry Bauer, so that the SSE could recognize “significant contributions to the expansion of human understanding through the study of unexplained phenomena.”

Such contributions were made by Tim Dinsdale, in whose memory this award is named. Dinsdale was by profession an engineer, who chanced to obtain in 1960 what remains still the most striking evidence of unexplained animals in Scottland. Dinsdale’s subsequent investigations over three decades were carried on with such integrity that the Times of London marked his passing with a respectful obituary, rare indeed with someone whose prominence stems from the pursuit of such unorthodox research.

Through the Dinsdale award, the SSE endeavors to identify, publicize, and reward senior scholars who have made similarly substantial contributions to the understanding of anomalous physical, biological, and psychological events in the spirit of meticulous research, exemplary methodology, and proper scholarly attitude that Tim Dinsdale exemplified.

Award Recipients

2021: Jessica Utts
For significant contributions in the rigorous application of statistical methods to the study of psi, including remote perception, presentiment, and distant healing.

2018: Hal Puthoff
A career of research into Unidentified Aerial Phenomena, Remote Viewing, and advanced energy technologies.

2016: Jeff Meldrum
The Search for Relict Hominoids

2014: Gerald H. Pollack
For his work on the fourth phase of water.

2012: Henry Bauer
Lifetime Achievement.

2010: Jack Houck
Lifetime Achievement.

2008: Jerome Clark
For his consistent accuracy, clear thinking and editorial integrity shown in comprehensive writings about unexplained anomalies and ufology -- the scholarly study of unidentified flying objects.

2006: Peter Sturrock
For the application of sound scientific principles and methodologies to the study
of unidentified aerial phenomena, including outreach to professional astronomers
and physicists, and for leadership in facilitating disciplined discussion and peer-reviewed publication of research on scientific anomalies.

2004: Robert Rines
Founder of the Academy of Applied Science through which he has given wide-ranging support to innovative explorations in science and technology; noting particularly the pioneering work at Loch Ness which achieved the first – and still the only – underwater photographs of apparently large unidentified animals.

2002: William Roll
For his important contributions to knowledge of paranormal phenomena through longstanding investigations of poltergeists.

2000: Kilmer McCully
Whose remarkable persistence in investigating the causative role of homosysteine in arterio-sclerosis during many years of neglect and rejection of this discovery has provided an important model for other scientists.

1998: Ian Stevenson
For his pioneering research into cases suggestive of reincarnation and his extensive scientific investigations of the evidence for survival of human personality beyond death.

1996: Halton Arp
For his extensive observational research concerning the redshift of quasars and other astronomical objects, and his perception and creativity concerning the role of redshift in cosmology.

1994: William Corliss
For identifying and providing access to an “unclassified residuum” through his uniquely comprehensive catalog of scientific anomalies and unexplained phenomena.

1992: Helmut Schmidt
For his pioneering efforts in the development and application of electronic and computer techniques to research on the human machine interaction.